Honey Cake (Dairy and Egg Free)

I wanted to try this cake for a very long time. I had a big baking disaster yesterday and wanted to make it up somehow. I wanted to surprise my husband with a veganised version of almond cake. But it turned out into a gooey mess. * Sigh* Boy, that hurts! But one day, I’m gonna get that almond cake just right!

My husband reminded me that I haven’t baked much since I was trying to adapt to my raw till 4 lifestyle, which is not going good. Some days I was able to make through the day and on other days I just craved for spicy food. I was caught in between this raw and spice world, I totally forgot to attempt any baking. I just made mug cakes, which my kid refused to acknowledge as baking.                                     honeycake_eggless

eggless_honeycake3

I’m a kind of person who has hard time accepting defeat. There were so many burnt, cardboard phase, absolute goo mug cakes under my rug, which my husband never knew of. He just couldn’t understand how the cocoa powder and sugar got over so soon. So, despite yesterday’s attempt, I gathered my wits and tried this cake. And I almost screamed out of joy when this deliciousness came out of the oven.

eggless_cake

honeycake_cardamom

The recipe is adapted from Joy of Kosher blog. This is actually a jewish new year cake called Rosh hashanah. The original recipe had eggs on them and I replaced them with applesauce and surprisingly it worked out very well. I tried the same cake with flax egg, but it had a nutty taste,which I did not like much. I also added little bit cardamom powder, because that’s my favourite spices of all. Almost all our south Indian desserts have cardamom in them one way or the other. But it will overpower the cake if added in excess.

This cake is moist and has a rich cardamom flavor. The deep color of the cake comes from honey and the tea/coffee, which I absolutely love. I liked the chai tea version of cake more than the coffee one. My adorable friends from Srilanka got me some 4 different flavors of tea which are totally delish. For this cake I used a chai flavored one.

Honey Cake (Dairy and Egg Free)

Ingredients

Dry

  • All purpose flour  – 1 1/4 cup + 2 TBSP
  • cardamom powder – 1/2 tsp
  • cinnamon – 1 tsp
  • Baking soda – 1 tsp
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp

Wet

  • Honey – 1/2 cup
  • Sugar – 1/2 cup
  • Applesauce – 1/4 cup + 2 TBSP
  • Vanilla extract – 1 tsp
  • Coconut oil – 1/4 cup
  • Coffee or strong tea (I used chai tea) – 1/2 cup

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F . Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. whisk to combine.
  2. Mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and fold in gently. Do not over mix.
  4. Bake in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes. Do not overbake.

Enjoy with your coffee or tea! 🙂 Have fun making this amazing eggless and dairy free honey cake.

Leave a Reply

