chocolate chip cookies from Almond pulp/meal (Gluten Free & Vegan)

Hey you beautiful people! I’m in a great mood today. Because,I MADE COOKIES!

I started making almond milk at home 3 months back and never went back to the store bought ones again. Though I love the silk brand plant based milks, one of my friends freaked me out, saying they mostly contain 2% almonds. And I couldn’t find any legitimate source saying they are 100% almonds. So, I decided to make my own from thereon. But, I had to figure out a way to use the almond pulp that had been piling up on my freezer.

A while back, I read on a blog about making coconut flour from the coconut pulp. So, I braced myself and made the flour from the pulp.

almond-choc-chip-cookies

How to make Almond milk

Soak the almonds overnight for best results. Use 1:4 ratio for almonds & water. For 1 cup of almonds, add 4 cups of water and blend in a high powered blender. Drain the milk using a nut milk bag or a clean cheese cloth. I store the pulp in the freezer till I have enough to make almond flour.

How to make almond flour from the pulp

Once you have enough almond pulp, preheat the oven to 175 ° F. Spread the pulp in a cookie sheet and pop it in the oven. It’s a pretty slow process, you need some patience and a watchful eye. Mine took me around 5 hours to dry up and get crispy enough to grind finely in the blender. I did not blanch the almonds before making the almond milk. I don’t have that much patience left in me.

almondpulp_cookies
Almond flour from the pulp

This cookie can be easily made from almond meal as well. It has that crumbly texture and  slight buttery taste.

almond-cookies

almond-cookies_2

Chocolate chip cookie from almond pulp/Meal (Gluten Free & Vegan)

Makes 12 medium sized cookies.

Ingredients

  • Almond meal/pulp – 1 .25 cups
    almondcookies3
    Almond pulp Chocolate Chip cookies
  • Arrow root starch – 2 Tbs (optional)
  • Peanut butter – 1/4 cup
  • coconut oil – 3 Tbsp
  • Coconut sugar – 1/3 cup
  • Almond milk – 2 Tbsp
  • Vanilla extract – 1/2 tsp
  • Baking powder – 1/2 tsp
  • A dash of cinnamon and salt
  • 1/2 cup  vegan chocolate chips (I used trader joe’s)

Instruction

  • Mix peanut butter, coconut oil, coconut sugar, milk & vanilla extract.
  • In a separate bowl, mix almond pulp, arrow root starch, baking powder, cinnamon & salt.
  • Add the dry ingredients to wet and mix in gently. Add in the chocolate chips.
  • Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes.
  • Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Make the dough into small discs and place them on a lined baking sheet.
  • Bake the cookies for 8-10 mins or the edges are golden.
  • Let the cookies cool well. Cooling process hardens the cookies.

If the cookies feel crumbly when you pick it up, leave them in the switched off oven for another 2 – 3 minutes. They will set in the warmth of the oven.

I ate a lot of these cookies in the name of taste testing and used up all my flour in the process. I’m extremely happy about my first step on the zero waste, but on the other hand, I have to run my ass off for the cookies I ate !

Have fun making these cookies.

Leave a Reply

