Coconut milk stew

I’m a kind of person who dreams about the food I’m gonna cook the next day. If I try to create a new recipe or if I figure out a recipe, I mostly stay wide awake like an owl, scratching in a notepad. Crrraazy! I know! This is one such recipe which makes me anticipate the next day. 

Coconut was always a staple in our household. We usually buy 3-4 coconuts a week. You need an enormous strength in your hands to bust open the coconut without hurting your fingers and more ounce of strength to take out the coconut meat. My mom does this job like peeling a banana. I cut open my finger trying to pry open the coconut for the first time. I’m still scared! She always gave me the coconut water, which is the best thing I have ever tasted in my life till now!

Coconut milk has an amazing healing effect on your stomach especially if you have ulcer. It’s way better than Pepto bismal if you ask me. Whenever I feel that my ulcer is building up, I make something with coconut milk and tone the spiciness way down. Always works like a charm. 

This is a native recipe from my hometown. We usually eat this with idiyappam (string hoppers – steamed rice flour noodles) which is my second favourite food in the world. This stew is also great for noodles and roti/chapati. Mostly I use home made coconut milk, but I used trader Joe’s milk for this recipe.

Coconut milk stew

Ingredients:

coconut milk – 1/2 cup

Vegetables  – 1.5 cups

(Carrots,beans,potato,peas)

Onion (chopped)- 1/4 cup

Tomato – 1 (medium sized)

One crushed garlic

cumin powder – 1/2 tsp

Chilli powder – 3/4 tsp

 Method

1. Take 1/4 cup coconut milk and add 3/4 cup water to it. We need thin coconut milk to boil the vegetables.

2. Add all the ingredients except the spice powders and let the vegetables cook about 15 minutes.

3. Once the vegetables are cooked, add salt, cumin powder, chilli powder  and a pinch of turmeric. Let it boil for 5 minutes.

4. Take the remaining 1/4 cup thick coconut milk and add it to the stew. Switch off the flame and garnish with cilantro. 

If you are eating the stew with noodles, just add cooked noodles to the stew. Do try this amazing recipe and let me know what you think  🙂 

Till next time 🙂 

Leave a Reply

