One minute Chocolate mug cake (vegan, oil free)

I’m always out of ingredients when a chocolate craving hits. It’s either almond milk or oil and now I’m out of both . Ha! How convenient ! But I managed to make a mug cake out of the stuff I had in my pantry today. Yay for me 😁

We went to trader Joe’s mainly to buy pasta and ended up spending 50$ over fruits and some veggies. Yikes! I gotta tone down my grocery bill. Yet, I don’t feel guilty for sneaking in a bag of chocolate chips among the items *evil grin*. I read in a couple of blogs that trader Joe’s chocolate chips are vegan. I gave out a noticeable gasp when I saw it for myself. I was making a batch of chocolate chips at home ever since we got cocoa butter . But I ended up eating all of them🀐. Not cool for my belly! 

I stopped buying almond milk from stores when I learned that most of the brands have only 2% almonds. I usually make almond milk ,but I ran out of almonds . Then came the walnuts to rescue ! Walnut milk was very creamy and delicious. I used it for my pancakes and smoothies too. 

I cooked the Mug cake in power 4 setting of my microwave for a minute. The result was a soft and moist mug cake which I drooled over just by looking at it. My not so chocolate loving hubby gave it a thumbs up πŸ™‚

One minute Chocolate mug cake (vegan and oil free)

Recipe source : kirbies cravings

Ingredients 

  • Vegan chocolate chips – 1/4 cup
  • Any plant based milk – 3 tbsp
  • All purpose flour – 2 tbsp
  • Banana puree – 2 tbsp
  • Almond or vanilla extract ,cinnamon- a dash
  • Baking powder – 1/4 tsp

Instructions

  1. Microwave chocolate chips and milk for 30 seconds until the chocolate melts . Whisk the mixture well with a fork.
  2. Add mashed banana, almond/vanilla extract and cinnamon. Refrain yourself from eating this entire mixture πŸ˜ƒ
  3. Combine baking powder and flour .
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet and mix well. Do not over mix. You don’t want the gluten to develop, which will make the cake tough
  5. Microwave for one minute in power mode 4.

Wait for the cake to cool down or dive right in. 

Till next time ! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

