Quinoa Fruit Bowl

I always loved my cereal for breakfast, honey bunches to be exact. I will pour more than 2 cups of cold whole fat milk over a full bowl of sugary cereal and watch friends on netflix. It was kinda my morning ritual. I could eat it all day if you let me. Slowly I piled on pounds and at one point I became very aware that I couldn’t stop with one bowl of cereal.I was addicted to it. My mom was worried and told me to cut junk. But as per the non Vegan me, cereal with fruits came under raw food category 😂 oh, the things I did and said to eat food! 

 Our standard breakfast used to be idli(steamed rice cakes), sprouted beans crepes, millet floor crepes or idiyappam ( string hoppers). All these are very harmless & nutritious, so filling and oh so delicious. But I ignored them all and settled for this quick fix. Strangely my kid never loved cereal. 

 I’m a strict plant based vegan now. It’s been a year since we bought any cereal and I found a perfect way to replace it.Quinoa is a carb rich food which gives you the needed energy to get through the morning. I always feel full after having this. In my village people used to have carbs (sprouted rice in cold water with onion and peppers to be exact)before going to work. They are farmers, so this help them to work longer hours in sun. This is my mom’s advice too , have carbs by morning or early afternoon. Our body will burn the energy perfectly. 

I like my quinoa and fruits with very cold almond milk, even on winters 🙂 well, partly because I didn’t fall sick once in these 2 months.Guess the vegan food agrees with me 😊

Quinoa fruit bowl

Ingredients

  • Cooked Quinoa – 1 cup
  • Almond milk 
  • Bananas
  • Apples
  • Dates
  • Raisins
  • Walnuts

    Cook the quinoa untill fluffy. Let it cool and put all the other ingredients in a bowl and dive in! Don’t skip on dates. There is something divine about the combination of almond milk , bananas and dates. Have fun making this amazing food 🙂 

    Till next time! 🙂

    2 Comments Add yours

    1. Sherrie Lanell says:

      I haven’t considered having quinoa for breakfast in this way. I’m glad I landed on your blog because you have some pretty awesome food selections. Thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for visiting my blog Sherrie 😃I’m so glad to hear that

        Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    