Raw chocolate snack bites (Raw, Vegan &Gluten Free)

I.LOVE.TO.EAT

There is no stopping me from eating my favorite food. When it comes to snacking, I always turn to chocolate. After I got diagnosed with PCOS, the doctors said I should not be eating any sugary food. They had a big list of what not to eat, what they failed to tell me is that I can eat lot more healthy than my current diet. I lived in denial for so long ignoring my PCOS and down came along hirsutism. I did a little research and found out to my utter despair that I’m not supposed to eat all my favorite foods. Well, to be fair most of my fav foods were unhealthy! I was pretty rebellious about the fact that I have to cut down dairy. Again a denial phase. I went through couple of netflix documentaries like Cowspiracy, Forks over knives and it totally changed my perspective towards what I was feeding my body. I became very mindful of the way I cook and the ingredients I chose. My transition from a fat vegetarian to a vegan was certainly a bumpy one. But I’m on the way to a complete healthy lifestyle.

Which brings me to my snacking and sugar cravings. I had this craving after every meal to eat something sweet. Since turning vegan all the junk foods were out of option and I had to make sure I had some healthier option to munch on, since I always went back to the old spiral of eating junk. This chocolate bite was perfect for me and surprisingly it filled me up and stopped me from having any more cravings. It is healthy, naturally sweetened with dates, hence a win win! You can make this with any type of nuts. Just grind them up and mix it well, you are good to go!

choc

Raw chocolate snack Bites

I used walnuts and cashews. You can use any combination.

Recipe:

  • Walnuts – 1/4 Cup
  • cashews – 1/4 Cup
  • medjool dates – 6 to 8
  • Cacao Powder or unsweetened cocoa Powder – 1/4 cup
  • A dash of cinnamon and vanilla Extract

Blend them all together in a high powered blender. You don’t have to refrigerate them, they will hold the shape very well. If they are not blending together, add a little of water or almond milk.

They stay good for a week at room temperature. Have fun making them 🙂

Till next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

