Vegetable stock

Have you guys tried vietnamese Pho? If you haven’t, you guys are missing out something spectacular! Before I have gone vegan, my eyes usually wander off to chick fil a (for the vanilla milkshake) or papa johns at the mall. One fine day when I got so cranky and hungry, my husband took me to this stall (which was near chick fil a and which I never noticed) and got me the Pho noodle soup. I was blown away from the very first sip and wanted to try this at home desperately. One of the main ingredients of any amazing soup is the stock.

I always wanted to make vegetable stock from scratch, but I was too lazy to do it. I did it once but, ended up wasting the cooked vegetables. I felt terrible for wasting food and was scared to try this again at home. But then, I came across a vegan food blog which gave me the idea of making the stock from the vegetable scraps. I’m talking about the portions of veggies we throw out after chopping.

At first I thought the idea was insane and that’s exactly why I had to try it!  I started to collect the vegetable scraps in a Ziploc bag and stored it in the freezer.

For this stock, I have used the remnants of carrots, onion, beans, ginger, garlic and tomato. Once the bag was full (which was after a week or so) I boiled them till the water was reduced to half. So far, I have used this stock for noodle soups and the taste was phenomenal. I can’t wait to make the Vietnamese Pho recipe using the stock.

stock

. Recipe:

Start collecting the scraps of veggies which you possibly might throw away. You can use the following vegetables:

  • Carrots
  • Beans
  • onions (roots)
  • tomatoes
  • cauliflower

Avoid using cabbage since it might leave a bitter taste.

Once you have enough vegetable scraps, wash them thoroughly and put them in a pot with enough water to cover them all. Add enough salt to the water and bring it to boil. Once the water is reduced to half, you can switch off and wait for the stock to cool. Using a fine sieve or a cheese cloth filter the stock well.

Use this amazing stock to make your favorite soups or noodles. Till next time then! 🙂

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

